RSS Feed

Living Pure In An Impure World

Posted on
Living Pure In An Impure World

02.09.2014

Leviticus 18

The history of the modern day sexual revolution began right here in good old conservative Indiana.

I say ‘modern day sexual revolution,’ because most of us think sexuality is something our generation discovered in the 1960’s and 70’s, but that’s not the case.

Sexual revolutions have been around since time began and the damaging effects are an undisputed historical fact. From antiquity entire cities were destroyed by sexually transmitted diseases.

As God was about to bring His chosen people Israel into the Promised Land, a place occupied by people who were involved in a sexual revolution, God laid out very clear guidelines in Leviticus 18.

Keep in mind that every scenario God portrays in Leviticus 18 is something that was already happening with regularity and furthermore, it was destroying the people of the land.
The sexual culture of our country affects the way we think which affects the way we behave which affects the destiny of our life on earth and in eternity.

Listen carefully, God loves us and wants us to be happy, healthy, and whole. Because of His great love God set forth clear boundaries for the healthy expression of our sexual life – Leviticus 18:1-5.

Then the Lord spoke to Moses, saying, “Speak to the children of Israel, and say to them: ‘I am the Lord your God. According to the doings of the land of Egypt, where you dwelt, you shall not do; and according to the doings of the land of Canaan, where I am bringing you, you shall not do; nor shall you walk in their ordinances. You shall observe My judgments and keep My ordinances, to walk in them: I am the Lord your God. You shall therefore keep My statutes and My judgments, which if a man does, he shall live by them: I am the Lord. (Leviticus 18:1-5 NKJV)

God said; if you follow my guidelines you will live. That’s the heart of God, to give us life, joy, peace, true happiness and fulfillment.

Our culture says that unrestricted, unbridled passion and lust are healthy and good, but the truth is they always bring heartache and disappointment in the end.

God systematically, step by step lays out the boundaries of appropriate sexual expression beginning with a prohibition of incest, which is anyone from our family of origin – Leviticus 18:6.

‘None of you shall approach anyone who is near of kin to him, to uncover his nakedness: I am the Lord. (Leviticus 18:6 NKJV)

From verse 7 to verse 18 it deals with the near of kin and God calls all such sexual relationships wickedness. I won’t take time to read this sorted and ugly list. 

There’s a movement today in Switzerland and Sweden, as well as other countries in Europe to remove all laws about incest, and they are tampering with the idea of pedophilia.

I predict that in the same way the taboo against homosexuality was systematically removed, incest and pedophilia will be the next big ‘sexual taboo’ to be challenged and eventually removed from the laws of the land.
Incest was in the news this week with the story of Woody Allen and his daughter Dylan Farrow.

One blog writer from Scotland posted: “ Virtually all sexual practices are now permitted between consenting adults and Christian morality is now no longer Western society’s guide in such matters. I can’t see the argument against incestuous relationships between consenting adults. An argument against such relationships based on the reproduction of disabled children doesn’t stand up. Surely this inconvenience to society can be avoided by the practice of “safe” sex. Any disabled children that are unfortunately produced can simply be terminated (as frequently happens already anyway). In our increasingly immoral society the only tests of whether something is acceptable is whether both (or all) parties consent.”

If you find that line of reasoning shocking, don’t be. It’s the natural conclusion to the removal of all sexual restraint and boundaries, and this kind of thinking has been around for millenniums.

The Bible says there is NOTHING NEW under the sun! Sexual perversion is not a new thing.

God moved from incest into the realm of homosexuality and ends with bestiality – Leviticus 18:23.

Nor shall you mate with any animal, to defile yourself with it. Nor shall any woman stand before an animal to mate with it. It is perversion. (Leviticus 18:23 NKJV)

Why did God get so graphic? Because He knew WHERE the slippery slope of a sexual revolution would end up at.

A revolution is a REVOLT. (Screen) By definition = 1. A violent attempt to end the rule of one law and start a new one 2. An extreme and complete change in the way people think and live.
                                                                     
Does that describe the effects of the sexual revolution we’ve been living in America and the world?

God loves us and wants life, joy, peace, health, happiness and wholeness to be the reality of our life.

God describes the bleak end of a sexual revolution – Leviticus 18:24-30.

‘Do not defile yourselves with any of these things; for by all these the nations are defiled, which I am casting out before you. For the land is defiled; therefore I visit the punishment of its iniquity upon it, and the land vomits out its inhabitants. You shall therefore keep My statutes and My judgments, and shall not commit any of these abominations, either any of your own nation or any stranger who dwells among you (for all these abominations the men of the land have done, who were before you, and thus the land is defiled), lest the land vomit you out also when you defile it, as it vomited out the nations that were before you. For whoever commits any of these abominations, the persons who commit them shall be cut off from among their people. ‘Therefore you shall keep My ordinance, so that you do not commit any of these abominable customs which were committed before you, and that you do not defile yourselves by them: I am the Lord your God.’ ” (Leviticus 18:24-30 NKJV)

If you went to your doctor and she said, “You need to stop smoking, it’s going to eventually kill you,” would you think your doctor was just being mean? Would you think she was sticking her nose in your business? Would you think she didn’t care about you? Of course not! You would understand she had your best interests at heart. She actually cares about you!

God has our best interest at heart! God cares about us. That’s why He gave us such specific guidelines. He wants us to be happy, healthy and whole. 

I said the modern day sexual revolution started in Indiana, and indeed it did in 1947 in Bloomington on the IU campus.

Alfred Kinsey was the single greatest influencer of the sexual revolution in modern times. During WWII when most of our men were off fighting for the freedom of the world Alfred Kinsey was fighting to bring the world under the bondage of sexual obsession. I’d say he WON that war!
Alfred grew up in a devote Methodist home and he hated God and he hated the church
Both he and his wife were bisexual and had an open marriage sharing the same male lover
He was predominately homosexual and preferred young men (big into Boy Scouts)
He was a ‘homosexist’ = homosexist believe homosexuals are superior to heterosexuals
Kinsey primarily used homosexual men and prison inmates in his classic sex study
He is the one who erroneously declared that 10% of the population was homosexual

Alfred Kinsey’s obsession with sex influenced a young impressionable man by the name of Huge Heffner. In 1953 Hugh produced his first magazine Playboy that had America’s first sex idol, Marilyn Monroe, on the cover and the sexual revolution was off and running.

These two men singlehandedly changed the sexual culture of America.

Proverbs 30:12 “There is a generation that is pure in its own eyes, yet is not washed from its filthiness.”
Isaiah 5:20 “Woe to those who call evil good, and good evil; who put darkness for light, and light for darkness; who put bitter for sweet, and sweet for bitter!”

The sexual revolution rolls on and the lines between good and evil are completely blurred. Parents, you need to understand there’s a movement to shift sex education to a whole new level.

Dr Ruth Neustifter, sexuality educator from Ontario, Canada and Joshua Rosenberger, professor of global health at George Mason University, and others propose we teach the following sexual values;
(Screen) Virginity can’t be lost because it doesn’t really exist
We can define gender for ourselves and respect how others define their gender
It’s a lot easier to accept yourself and all the weirdness inside of you when you realize that everyone else is dealing with that, too
Don’t let the expectations of others box you in or limit your pleasure
Know who you are when it comes to your sexuality, but don’t be afraid to step outside your comfort zone and be open-minded about sexual experiences
The sooner you become open-minded the more fun you are going to have
You don’t have to love someone to have sex, but you should respect your partners and yourself enough to make what goes on between you pleasurable and safe
There’s nothing more empowering than being able to safely explore one’s desires and fantasies without fear of shame or feelings of remorse
Orientation is an identity preference and you can choose who you want and change your mind as many times as you like
People need to understand that sex is fun–fun and funny

I only share this with you because it reflects the sexual ideas that are becoming more and more prevalent within our culture.

I think it’s safe to say that not a day goes by that all of us aren’t exposed to a sexual value that is contrary to the values that God Himself has established, and He did it that so we would be happy, healthy, joyful and whole.

I read it last week: “Therefore he who rejects this does not reject man, but God, who has also given us His Holy Spirit.” 1 Thessalonians 4:8

The world we live in scoffs at sexual boundaries and mocks all who attempt to live holy. Don’t listen to the voices of doubt; listen to the voice of the Holy Spirit. God desires that you live in happiness, holiness, joy and peace. And friends, the values of this world cannot give those to us. 

TESTIMONY:
Revelations 12:11 says, “They overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony.” A testimony is one of the most powerful tools a Christian has. I am very passionate about the topic of purity because of what God brought me through. I hope my testimony provides hope, healing, and encouragement to those still walking through the battle. 
         As a child I was sexually abused several times and my parents brushed each one of them under the rug. As a teenager my mother accused me of having sex so in my mind I thought that gave me permission. I then put myself in situations that led to date rape and was taken advantage of more times than I can count. My first marriage ended because of a nasty tangled web of sexual sin on both sides.   In the months following my divorce I was drawn to God and cried out for His help and forgiveness. For the next thirteen years I was on a growth track filled with challenges, changes, choices, comfort, healing, restoration and new beginnings.
I entered another relationship two years after my divorce. Gradually I felt the Holy Spirit speaking to me louder and louder regarding purity and two years into that relationship I felt conviction to the point I told him I could not have sex anymore until we got married. Of course the relationship ended and he let me know it was going to be impossible to find a man who’d be willing to wait until marriage. I reached out to my Christian family for their prayers and support only to be told they thought I was being too extreme in my stance. I held tight to the truth revealed in the Bible.  
My heart was set on doing God’s will for my life. I longed for a Godly relationship. If anyone asked me to go on a date my response was, “My heart is reserved for someone else.” I was filled with the hope that God had someone special who would love me and Him, so I wrote a list of characteristics of what a Godly man should look like. During this time of waiting I drew closer to God and fell in love with Him. God filled me with comfort and love like I have never experienced as well as a hunger for righteousness. In 2010 a man asked me on a date and I did not respond with my normal reply. Within a few months God grew us closer and closer together and 16 months later God led us into marriage. I looked back at the list and every single characteristic was found in this Man of God! The difference between this relationship and all the past relationships was that now both of our hearts were set on sexual purity, we were equally yoked. God was in the middle of everything we did providing strength and self-control enabling us to stay pure for our wedding night. God restored my past and provided a new beginning so I could experience love the way God intended it to be.  
I am grateful that the Holy Spirit prompted me to flee from all sexual impurity. I know it was not a fast overnight transformation, but I did not give up on the desire to be pure. I admit I did a lot of things wrong and put myself in situations that were not good, but God was always quick to forgive me. I think I was harder on myself than He was. God gave me perseverance to press on, power to fight the good fight and the ability to be an over-comer. God cares for you in the same way and desires for all of us to be victorious.

Let’s read from 1 Corinthians 6 about God’s design for our body, our sexuality, and the underlying purpose for why God calls us to sexual purity.

This is perhaps the clearest scripture on the subject – 1 Corinthians 6:12-20.

All things are lawful for me, but all things are not helpful. All things are lawful for me, but I will not be brought under the power of any. Foods for the stomach and the stomach for foods, but God will destroy both it and them. Now the body is not for sexual immorality but for the Lord, and the Lord for the body. And God both raised up the Lord and will also raise us up by His power. Do you not know that your bodies are members of Christ? Shall I then take the members of Christ and make them members of a harlot? Certainly not! Or do you not know that he who is joined to a harlot is one body with her? For “the two,” He says, “shall become one flesh.” But he who is joined to the Lord is one spirit with Him. Flee sexual immorality. Every sin that a man does is outside the body, but he who commits sexual immorality sins against his own body. Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s. (I Corinthians 6:12-20 NKJV)

Corinth of old was not all that different from America of 2014.

Close with last week’s scripture:
1 Thessalonians 4:1-8

1 Finally then, brethren, we urge and exhort in the Lord Jesus that you should abound more and more, just as you received from us how you ought to walk and to please God; 2 for you know what commandments we gave you through the Lord Jesus.
3 For this is the will of God, your sanctification: that you should abstain from sexual immorality; 4 that each of you should know how to possess his own vessel in sanctification and honor, 5 not in passion of lust, like the Gentiles who do not know God; 6 that no one should take advantage of and defraud his brother in this matter, because the Lord is the avenger of all such, as we also forewarned you and testified. 7 For God did not call us to uncleanness, but in holiness. 8 Therefore he who rejects this does not reject man, but God, who has also given us His Holy Spirit.

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

