RSS Feed

Experience His Pleasure

Posted on
Experience His Pleasure

In the 1981 movie, Chariots of Fire, Eric Liddell’s sister scolds him for neglecting his responsibilities in order to turn his focus to competitive running. He says in response to her, “I believe that God made me for a purpose. But He also made me fast, and when I run, I feel His pleasure.”

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service (Romans 12:1 NKJV).

Startup Stock Photos

When you read Paul’s words from Romans 12:1, you can feel his passion. His words communicate a clear assumption you won’t disregard your call. Every child has a purpose or calling. We all have different gifts. When we function in our gifts, they energize us.

The call to serve:

  1. Is assumed.
  2. Is motivated by mercy instead of fear.
  3. Requires use of our bodies, employed in service to God (using our hands, feet, mouths, etc.)
  4. Requires a change of heart (We can’t perform our spiritual gifts apart from God).

When we serve God, we feel his pleasure. Our service to God touches the hearts of others and can become a catalyst to the transformation He wants in our lives and in the lives of those we serve.

Have your accepted your call? What transformations have you experienced in your own life as a result of your decision to serve? What have you witnessed in the lives of others because you chose to serve?

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

2 responses »

  1. Our Dear Pastor I am asking for a favor . Years have passed and I am old and disabled . But my love for God is as real today as it has been for years with the beatitudes living in my heart and mind . . I am asking you to Look into Mtiumishi Peter grace from Kenya You can find him on my facebook page . He sounds like a very dedicated young man And is trying to convert Muslims to Christianity . With so much being not true I need to know more about him and I am asking for your help / If you can I thank you . if you can,t I will understand In Jesus loving hands Karen Receveur ksreceveur@comcast.net

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

