RSS Feed

Life is So Much More

Posted on
Life is So Much More

Who will transform our lowly body that it may be conformed to His glorious body, according to the working by which He is able even to subdue all things to Himself. Philippians 3:21 NKJV

I do death possibly more than most as a pastor. I have watched many go from this world to heaven. Just recently, a family called me to come as their sweet family member drew near to the end of life on this world. I read Psalms to her as she made her exit from earth to heaven. I am never closer to Heaven than when a believer passes over to be present with God. Life is so much more than what we experience here.

Leighton Ford, a minister who worked with Billy Graham, lost his son at 22 years old to cancer. He poured out his grief on paper through a series of imaginary chats he held in his journal with his son, Sandy. In one excerpt Leighton said:

During the months following Sandy’s death, to cope with my grief and sense of loss, I kept a journal. Through a series of “conversations” with Sandy, I continued to express my grief and bring our relationship to a close.

In one of those chats, I said, “Sandy, you’ve been dead two months earthtime.”

“I feel as if I have been alive forever, Dad. It’s a lot like one big long today.”

“It’s not a matter of time, Sandy, except that time heals. It’s more a matter of nearness. I guess I’m concerned that as our time goes on, we will lose any sense of nearness.”

“But why, Dad? You’re moving closer to eternity every day. You’re no longer moving from, but to me! And besides, the ‘Wall’ between is so thin—you would laugh if you could see it.”[1]

The whole book of Romans is about new life, and what happens when experience eternal life coursing through us. With eternal life, we gain an eternal perspective.

 

[1] http://leightonfordministries.org/conversations-with-sandy-leighton-ford/

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

