RSS Feed

Hard Times Bring You Closer

Posted on
Hard Times Bring You Closer

The Apostle Paul’s prison experiences drew him closer to God. We are promised resurrection life. Resurrection life is here and now; it implies death. We experience some amount of death.

  • Paul talked about a thorn in the flesh. Jesus said to him, “My grace is all you need.”[1]
  • Moses’ physical limitations caused him to walk closer to God. He became known as a “Friend of God.’”
  • David’s many battles drove him to deep worship and then shaped him into a man after God’s own heart.

We know Christ’s power more (the power of the resurrection) through hard times.

Paul asked Jesus to remove the thorn in his flesh several times. Each time Jesus said, “No.” Jesus told Paul that he would experience far greater power in his weaker moments than he ever would in his stronger moments. Paul came to an amazing conclusion. He said, “from now on I will embrace my weaknesses. “

(Jesus) said to me, “My grace is all you need. My power is strongest when you are weak.” So I am very happy to brag about how weak I am. Then Christ’s power can rest on me. Because of how I suffered for Christ, I’m glad that I am weak. I am glad in hard times. I am glad when people say mean things about me. I am glad when things are difficult. And I am glad when people make me suffer. The weaker I get the stronger I become.”

It’s good to pray, “Lord, I want to know You more.” But understand this, it’s usually our trials that lead to a deeper understanding of Gods heart. We simply know Christ better through hard times.

[1] 2 Corinthians 12:9 NIRV

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

