RSS Feed

Texts to God

Posted on
Texts to God

I don’t always have to be present with my wife to communicate with her. Many times I just send her a short text. It’s my way of touching base with her throughout the day. I like texting because it’s immediate. It doesn’t require a long conversation. Sometimes I know she is busy. Other times I am busy and can’t stop what I’m doing to talk. That’s when a text is perfect.

Your prayers are like texts to God.

They don’t have to be long or formal. Some of our prayer life is formal; they can be short and pointed: God I’m so confused, tempted; show me where to go; give me a right heart.

Some of my own prayer time is formal, regular and in the same place from day to day. But some of my prayer is informal, irregular, and happens wherever I’m at and whatever I’m doing.

The Bible says to pray without ceasing, continue earnestly in prayer, and be vigilant in prayer.[1]

You can go to God, and He will answer every time. Prayer can do anything God can do, but only if you pray.  Prayer changes our hearts because during prayer we give it all to him.

For more on this topic, listen to the podcast, “The Joy of Prayer.”

[1] 1 Thessalonians 5:17

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

