RSS Feed

How Will You Grow God’s Gift?

Posted on
How Will You Grow God’s Gift?

In the parable of the talents, two people doubled their gifts. When they came before God He almost became giddy with excitement! He said, “Well done, you good and faithful servant! You have been faithful in managing small amounts, so I will put you in charge of large amounts. Come on in and share my happiness!”[1]

We really have no idea what God has prepared for us to do in Heaven. I can tell you now, we won’t be floating no clouds and playing harps! We won’t be sitting around for eternity doing nothing but eating angel food and staying thin! We will have purpose! We will live out our eternal destiny and it will be inexorably linked to our life on earth!

We will be rewarded for the way we grew God’s gifts.

In another parable similar to this one Jesus said to those who were faithful to double their gifts, you will be over ten cities in heaven![2]

A few days ago I sat at the funeral home with Brenda Lycan and her son, Nathanael and together we planned out the memorial service for Arnold. I listened as Brenda and Nathanael recounted story after story of all the ways Arnold quietly helped others. I told them, “Can you imagine the entrance Arnold must have had when he crossed the finish line?”

He literally had just finished feeding and putting the cattle down for the night. He drove up the road, pulled over, put the truck in park, and left earth for Heaven.

“As for me, my life has already been poured out as an offering to God. The time of my death is near. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, and I have remained faithful. And now the prize awaits me—the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give me on the day of his return. And the prize is not just for me but for all who eagerly look forward to his appearing.”[3]

 

[1] Matthew 25:21 NLT

[2] Luke 19

[3] 2 Timothy 4:6-8 NLT

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

