RSS Feed

A Guide throughout Your Life

Posted on
A Guide throughout Your Life

We have question for God like, what do I do about my career, my children—the list goes on. The Word of God gives us general principles to follow, not necessarily detailed, specific instruction for every situation. What do I mean by that? Just this. You and I have to be very careful about interpreting the SPECIFICS of God’s Word to a specific situation.

Two old friends met one day after many years. One said to the other, “How has everything been going with you?”

“Well, one day I opened the Bible at random, and dropped my finger on a word and it was ‘oil,’ So, I invested in oil, and boy, did the oil wells gush. Then another day I dropped my finger on another word and it was gold. So, I invested in gold and those mines really produced. Now, I’m as rich as Rockefeller.”

The old friend was so impressed that he rushed to his hotel, grabbed a Gideon Bible, flipped it open, and dropped his finger on a page. He opened his eyes and his finger rested on the words, “Chapter Eleven.” It’s important to be careful about specific words.

Typically, what I’m looking for when I need guidance is a confirming word that the Holy Spirit burns into my heart to give me comfort and direction.

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

