RSS Feed

The Bible Equips Us for Ministry

Posted on
The Bible Equips Us for Ministry

Regardless of what your spiritual gift is, you need the Bible to be an effective minister. The Bible is vital to get there.

We are created for good works. If we will be students of the Word, it will equip us for the work.

Jesus plainly said, that it was by abiding in the vine, and only by abiding in the vine, that we would be able to produce fruit. “You are already clean because of the word which I have spoken to you. Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me. I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing. If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you. By this My Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit; so you will be My disciples.”[1]

I have two questions for you to ask yourself:

  • Are you living a fruitful life?
  • Are you a serious student of God’s Word?

Someone once said that if the Bible could place a want ad in the job section it would possibly read like this:

Wanted: All-purpose job. I would like to work as a tutor, a teacher and advisor to your family. I will never take a vacation. I will never be out of humor. I don’t drink or smoke. I won’t borrow your clothes or raid your refrigerator. I will be up in the morning as early as anyone in the household and will stay up as late as anyone wishes. I will help solve any problems your children might have. I will give you the satisfaction of knowing that no question your children ask will go unanswered. For that matter, I will answer any of your own questions on subjects that range from “How we got here?” to “Where are we headed?” I will help settle differences of opinion. I will give you information that will help you with your job, your family and all of your other interests. In short, I will give you the knowledge that will insure the continued success of your family and life. I am your Bible. Do I get the job?

 

[1] John 15:3-8 KJV

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

