RSS Feed

Why Should I Invest Time in Bible Study?

Posted on
Why Should I Invest Time in Bible Study?

The word of God is alive and active, sharper than any double-edged sword. It cuts all the way through, to where soul and spirit meet, to where joints and marrow come together. It judges the desires and thoughts of the heart. There is nothing that can be hid from God; everything in all creation is exposed and lies open before his eyes. And it is to him that we must all give an account of ourselves.

Hebrews 4:12-13 GNT

I had lunch with a young man who told me that Lord put it on his hear to read the Bible from Genesis to Revelation. He said, “It’s changing me. I’m reading stuff I’ve never read. And last Sunday night,” he continued, “I was reading and my wife came in.” (They’d had some serious struggles in their marriages a few years back.) He said, “She looked at me and said, ‘You’re not the man I knew two years ago. You’ve changed. I want what you have.”

The Word of God, the Bible, exposes our inner most being.[1]  The Holy Spirit is your teacher. If you don’t Study God’s Word, you will experience stunted growth in your spiritual life.

I read about Prisoners of War during the Vietnam War that would tap out scriptures in Morse Code back and forth to one another. It gave them course; it kept hope alive.

Seven reasons to invest your heart and time into Bible study:

  1. It is God’s Word.
  2. It helps you to know God better.
  3. You can learn what the Bible says first hand.
  4. It provides personal growth.
  5. You will discover Jesus.
  6. It equips you to help others.
  7. It helps you to avoid error.

We are born into error, but the Word of God reorients our thinking the truth for any matter.

[1] Hebrews 4:12-13 GWT

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

