RSS Feed

Die to Self and Live in Christ

Posted on
Die to Self and Live in Christ

We have to die to self in order to live in Christ. What does that mean? It means I HAVE TO GIVE UP all my futile attempts to produce lasting change on my own. It doesn’t work. I must understand that mankind is broken. I need a Savior. I cannot save myself, only Jesus can do that.

So I have to die to the idea of self-reliance. How do I do it?

I start thinking and acting like a person belonging to the Kingdom of God and stop living as someone only of this earth. Colossians 3:1-2 says, Since you were brought back to life with Christ, focus on the things that are above—where Christ holds the highest position. Keep your mind on things above, not on worldly things.[1]

And therein lies the problem. Every day we are saturated with messages that run counter to Christ’s culture. Our sense of worth, our sense of purpose is found in a system that is decaying and going away. So what is the answer to victory?

Arm ourselves with a death mentality!

Paul made it very clear. You have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.[2]

That actually takes an enormous amount of pressure off of us! When we finally come to the realization that we don’t have what it takes, and we cannot do it by ourselves, only then do we discover the secret to success in the Kingdom of God; it’s JESUS!

This awareness is not easy! We slip back into self-dependence so quickly. And that is precisely why Paul wrote so often about it.

To the church in Galatia he wrote, I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.[3]

We have to die to self in order to live IN Christ! And someday when Jesus returns we will be very happy that we learned this valuable lesson—die to self, and live in Christ.

Listen to the podcast this blog is taken from, Here’s the Problem – More or Less.

[1] GW

[2] Colossians 3:3 GW

[3] Galatians 2:19-20 NKJV

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

