RSS Feed

Spiritual Growth—Childhood and Adolescence

Posted on
Spiritual Growth—Childhood and Adolescence

Each stage of spiritual growth is another level of independence. You can make your own sandwich. It’s hear you learn to feed yourself spiritually. During the Childhood and Adolescence stage of spiritual development, we actually begin to learn how to fight the devil. Here we begin to understand that the discipleship journey is not all about warm and fuzzy feelings, but in reality, it’s about a deadly battle and the fight we must engage in.

At this stage of spiritual growth, we have to go deeper in the Word of God, or we are DEAD. We can no longer afford to sip the “milk of the Word,” but we must begin to chew on the meat of the Word. All body builders know meat provides protein for their muscles!

John the Apostle identifies this stage by all the “young people” in 1 John 2:13, 14. He says: “I write to you, fathers, because you know him who has existed from the beginning. I write to you, young people, because you have defeated the Evil One. I write to you, my children, because you know the Father. I write to you, fathers, because you know him who has existed from the beginning. I write to you, young people, because you are strong; the word of God lives in you, and you have defeated the Evil One.

And this is exactly the stage where many Christians “fixate.” What is fixation? Fixation happens whenever someone fails to go on to the next stage of maturity.

It’s perfectly alright to act like a baby when you are a baby! But carnality can be described as immaturity from those who ought to be mature.

As my dad used to say, “I don’t mind putting in the bottle to feed to feed a baby. I do object, however, when I have to move a mustache to do it!”

So we all come to the end of childhood and adolescence, and it’s time to move on. 1 Corinthians 13:11 says, “When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things.”

It’s time to grow to full maturity. Where do you see yourself on your journey? What stage are you at?

 

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

