RSS Feed

Are You Filled Up?

Posted on
Are You Filled Up?

Don’t get drunk on wine, which leads to wild living. Instead, be filled with the Spirit. Ephesians 5:18 GW

Thirteen years ago, I bought a used, 1999 Cadillac Seville. Everything worked on it except the fuel gauge. When I filled it up the gauge read full. But once you got below ½ to a ¼ tank, I found out it was anybody’s guess. The tricky part was at times it would read FULL but it was really empty. I began to reset my odometer after every fill up, and at 300 miles, I’d refill it regardless of what the fuel indicator read. After running out of gasoline a couple of times, I learned to carry a can with me too!

Some of us run exactly like that in our spiritual life. We are not really sure how much of God’s Spirit we have operating on the inside of us. We don’t know if we’re half full, a quarter full, or running on empty—until one day our spiritual engine just dies.

Please get your Bible, open it to Ephesians 5:18 and underline these five words: Be filled with the Spirit. Next to that, write today’s date and the words, Am I?

In other words, are you filled with Spirit?

That is a legitimate question for every Christian to ask themselves, and I highly recommend you ask yourself that question on a regular basis. I do.

In my next blog, we’ll examine what that looks like. In the meantime, ask the Lord to speak to your heart regarding that question.

You can listen to the complete message here.

 

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

