RSS Feed

Ways to Know God’s Will: #1 – Adopt the Mentality, I Am God’s Slave

Posted on
Ways to Know God’s Will: #1 – Adopt the Mentality, I Am God’s Slave

 

This is an intentional posture. I belong to God. He is my master. I am His slave. In his letters, Paul refers to himself as a slave of God the Father and of Jesus His Son.”

The word slavery is repulsive to us because we know it’s morally wrong for humans to own and control other human beings. But spiritually speaking, everyone is a slave. It’s really just a question of who our master is.

We will either be a slave to God or a slave to our own desires and will.

As long as I insist on maintaining control of my life, then God cannot lead me. The will of God is not on my radar. My will is in control.

Some Christians have the idea that it’s a fearful thing to give God complete control. What if God asks me to do something I don’t want to do. Let me give you a clue; HE WILL!

God’s will is always a challenge to us. Do you think Jesus wanted the cross? He prayed; “Father, if it is Your will, take this cup away from Me; nevertheless not My will, but Yours, be done.”[1]

Any Christian who won’t actively seek God’s will is actually living beneath their privilege. God has far more for us than any of us realize, but we have to surrender our will to the will of God.

I used to think, God will never give us more than we can handle. I don’t think that anymore. In fact, I believe it’s just the opposite. God gives us way more than we can handle so we must lean on Him way more than we would, and we seek way more of His power and purpose.

A perfectly comfortable life is perfectly empty, dull and fruitless.

Here’s a good prayer: “Lord, teach me to abandon myself to Your will.

So, the first way to know God’s will is to adopt the mentality: I am God’s slave.

Listen to this entire message online here.

[1] Luke 22:42

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

