RSS Feed

The Trojan Horse of Goodness

Posted on
The Trojan Horse of Goodness

As I mentioned in my previous blog, the devil has a Trojan horse he wants to gift wrap to the Church of Jesus Christ! The term “Trojan Horse” has come to mean any trick or strategy that unknowingly invites the enemy into a protected place. Satan has tricked and deceived more Christians with this Trojan Horse than any other weapon in his arsenal. It is the idol of RELIGION.

At the heart of religion is this idea that human effort wins the day. “If I’m good enough, if I try hard enough, if I’m spiritual enough, I will overcome through my effort.”

The idol of religion stands on the legs of my own goodness (I am made good by doing good.)

What makes this Trojan Horse so terribly addictive is that we all crave the feeling that we are good people. We want to be seen by others as good. We want to feel like we are good. So how do we become good? By doing good things.

The idea of doing good and thus being good is at the core of many ideologies and religions.

  • The Muslim have a strong belief that by doing good you become good. If the good I DO outweighs the bad, I get to go to heaven.
  • Philanthropy—most wealthy people latch on to idea of generosity because it makes them feel good. (If I do good, I must BE good).

I talked with a wealthy man who winters in Palms Spring:  the main industry of this town is philanthropy.

It makes perfect sense! If I DO good I must BE good. But it’s a lie.

In 1992 while pastoring in Madison, Indiana I conducted a door to door survey. “If you were to stand before God today and He asked you, ‘Why should I let you into my heaven,’ what would you say?”

Christians can easily fall into that same mentality, if I DO good, I become good.

Isaiah 64:6 says “For we are all unclean like a leper, and all of our attempts at righteousness are like filthy rags and polluted garments.”

We are all born in sin with a sinful heart and there is no possible way for us to do enough good to change that. It does not work.

Romans 3 says, “None are righteous, just, truthful, or upright, no not one. All have turned aside; they have all gone wrong and have become unprofitable and worthless; no one does right, not even one! The righteousness of God comes only by believing with personal trust and confident reliance on Jesus Christ. All have sinned and are falling short of the honor and glory which only God bestows.”[1]

As Christ followers we must understand ANY attempt at achieving goodness apart from faith in Jesus is NOT the gospel message! Our only hope of being ‘good’ is found in Jesus!

 

[1] Romans 3:10, 12, 22-23 AMPC

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

