RSS Feed

Sadness Is Birthed through Disappointment

Posted on
Sadness Is Birthed through Disappointment

Whenever I’m sad something has gone down differently than how I saw it happening. Have you ever noticed that whenever we start a new venture we always have this idealize picture in our heads of what it’s going to look like, but the reality is seldom like the fantasy?

Take marriage as an example. We have a picture of a house with a white picket fence and 2.3 kids running happily around the yard. And we wake up one day to discover the house has mold, our spouse seems cold and our kids can’t stand us! What happened to the picture of bliss and joy? We feel sad. Despair pushes against our soul because things didn’t turn out the way we had planned.

I remember hearing the story of Coach Gene Stallings years ago, when he was the coach of the Alabama Tide football team. They were expecting their 4th child, but the day John Mark was born they found out he had Down Syndrome. Gene was devastated, but years later he wrote; “My life wouldn’t be nearly as rich if I hadn’t raised a Down Syndrome child.” John Mark died in 2008, at 43.

Recently a picture of a Down Syndrome boy blew up on Facebook. Someone wrote: “They may not be able to do quantum physics in their lifetime, but children with Down Syndroms love BIG and work so hard to make us all proud.”

God has a way of taking the very things that make us sad and using them to move us into a new realm of spiritual strength and power.

Jesus said to His disciples, “I’m going back to the one who sent me, and because I’ve told you this, you are filled with sadness. But I am telling you the truth: it is good for you that I’m going away. If I don’t go away, the helper won’t come to you. But if I go, I will send him to you.”

What is God doing in your life right now? What are you going through today that God is using to prepare you for tomorrow?

 

 

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

