RSS Feed

I Know How to Overpower My Wife, But God Knows How to Overpower Me

Posted on
I Know How to Overpower My Wife, But God Knows How to Overpower Me

Over the years, I’ve come to know how to dominate my wife. I know I’m stronger than her physically. I know how to  intimidate her if I want to. I’ve never physically pushed her around, but I know how to be punitive and push her around mentally. I know how to get the upper hand. I know how to control my wife, if I choose to.

But I have found out that God knows how to dominate me!

I have learned that when I dominate my wife I lose spiritual power.

  • My prayers don’t work.
  • My inner peace is gone.
  • There’s a wall between God and me.

1 Peter 3:7 says, “You husbands must give honor to your wives. Treat your wife with understanding as you live together. She may be weaker than you are, but she is your equal partner in God’s gift of new life. Treat her as you should so your prayers will not be hindered.”[1]

Guys, whenever I use domination in our marriage, a powerful spiritual force goes to work too. God cares about his daughters. If we don’t treat them with true honor, He will deal with us!

It’s HOLY ground!

Ephesians 5:21-22, 25, 31-33 says, “Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ. For wives, this means submit to your husbands as to the Lord. For husbands, this means love your wives, just as Christ loved the church. He gave up his life for her. As the Scriptures say, “A man leaves his father and mother and is joined to his wife, and the two are united into one.” This is a great mystery, but it is an illustration of the way Christ and the church are one. So again I say, each man must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.”

[1] NLT

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

One response »

  1. A marriage between husband and wife is a reflection of Christ and His Church.
    Both of them have their unique roles to fulfill in a marriage. One not more important than the other but both working in harmony.
    https://loftforum.wordpress.com

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

