RSS Feed

God’s Word Confronts My Sin

Posted on
God’s Word Confronts My Sin

The Word of God is powerful and alive.

I’ll never forget the day when my daughter, Desirée called and said, “Daddy, God has called me to be an English Comp professor. Words are important Dad. Did you know that the world was created by words?”

Before there was a world, there was The Word.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made.[1]

In your mind, never minimize the Word. In your heart, never take it for granted. In your day-to-day life, never dismiss it. God’s Word is powerful. It has life-changing energy.

The Word of God confronts my sin.

We don’t like to think about or even admit our sins, but the Bible has a wonderful way of confronting the sin in our life.

For the word of God is alive and powerful. It is sharper than the sharpest two-edged sword, cutting between soul and spirit, between joint and marrow. It exposes our innermost thoughts and desires. Nothing in all creation is hidden from God. Everything is naked and exposed before his eyes, and he is the one to whom we are accountable.”[2]

I had a visitor in my first pastorate in DeKalb, Illinois who told me, “You were like a surgeon today. You carefully and tenderly cut my heart.”

I didn’t do it, the Word of God did it!

To listen to this entire message via podcast, click here.

 

[1] John 1:1-3 NIV

[2] Hebrews 4:12-13 NLT

About Ron Bontrager

Lead Pastor of Lakeview Church in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

